School children are becoming far too dependent on computers. This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills. Teachers need to avoid using computers in the classroom at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

Modern-day students are likely to depend on computers and similar devices. Some experts raise their concerns that this situation may cause them to lack reading and writing skills, therefore teachers should stop using them in classes and continue to teach in old-school ways. Although I partially agree that computers may affect students negatively, and this matter requires attention, I disagree that computers must be fully banned from schools in order to recover basic study skills. This essay will explain the reasons behind my opinion. The primary reason is computers might have negative effects on pupils in terms of basic communication skills. Many of these skills, for example reading and writing, require at least a daily dose of practice to improve. However, as technology advances and computers become more accessible, students have lost their interest in reading a printed book or writing a diary. Instead, they are now more engaged in using tablets, smartphones and computers. In my opinion, using computers and similar devices in classrooms must be limited to deal with failing communication skills. On the other hand, these devices might have benefits for students too. Surveys have shown that most students have used search engines, such as Google or Yandex, to gather feedback and information while they were doing homework. Although they have not required a paper and a pen, they still have performed reading and writing skills. I believe that these instruments might be quite effective for both learning and teaching only if schools start to limit their use reasonably. In conclusion, one could argue that computers and other devices may affect students ' reading and writing skills negatively. Furthermore, they may claim that teachers should avoid using them in order to improve such communication skills. Nevertheless, I believe that they might have benefits for students if they are used wisely, therefore, they should not be completely ignored in classrooms.