Some people believe that by killing someone society is also making a crime, so, that why death penalty should be forbidden. Life in prison would be a better punishment. Do you agree or disagree?

Several individuals are of the opinion that criminals must not be hanged because the death penalty is also a criminal offence. They suggest life in prison to be a better option for the law offenders. I strongly agree with the assertion that criminals must not be killed. The essay below will discuss this view at length. First and foremost, some prisoners are wrongly accused of crimes they did not commit. Therefore, hanging an innocent soul because of court injustice is unfair. That is why I support that criminals must not face death penalty. For instance, in 2015 the Zimbabwe high court had a case of a twin brother confessing to having killed their mother, while the other twin was wrongly arrested and had already served one year in jail awaiting to be hanged. In such a case the first twin was going to die without justice being served. Furthermore, the jail has become a rehabilitation centre for some convicts. Therefore, the death penalty means there is no time to repent and change their ways. Hence I agree that those in jail should not be hanged but rather spend the rest of their lives in prison. For example, there is a television program in South Africa (behind bars) where they interview prisoners. Almost 90% of the convicts show remorse towards their actions and mostly ask for forgiveness from the people they wronged. If such prisoners were killed then they would not get time to confess and ask for pardon. In conclusion, the essay above agreed that criminals must not be given the death penalty, it is better for them to spend the rest of their lives in prison. This is because there are innocent people in jails who are convicted for crimes they did not commit and prison sometimes changes the convict's characters. These and other issues were discussed in the essay above.