Ownership of mobile phones has risen dramatically in recent years despite the potentially harmful effects they may have on our health and on society. Governments should introduce measures to restrict ownership of mobile phones to those who need them for their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, a number of people own mobile phones though they cause different ailments on the users. It is said the government must introduce laws to restrain ownership of cell phones to those who use them for work purposes. I totally disagree with this assertion. The essay below will discuss this view at length. First and foremost, we are living in a world where almost everything is digitalised and most companies need mobile phones to sell their services. If the workers are restricted then it would affect the company goals. Therefore, I am against the idea of introducing laws on the usage of mobile phones. For instance, there are network companies such as Birdie (Hong Kong), if their services are restricted then the public will be affected as they depend on them. Secondly, on the issue of health, there are several types of equipment such as the reading glasses designed to protect the eyes of cellphone users. Using protective clothing and taking precautions when using phones may help reduce its effects on people's well-being. Hence I disagree that mobile phones ownership should be restricted. For example, the Econet company in Zimbabwe provides all their workers with reading glasses and protective gloves since they repair mobile phones. In conclusion, the essay above disagrees with the opinion that the government should introduce laws restricting the ownership of mobile phones by workers. This is because companies cannot survive without cellphones as they mostly depend on them for communication. These and other issues have been discussed in the above essay.