A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

Tourism has become a major source of income in many countries around the globe. However, in case of improper management, it can be problematic in various ways. While tourism can lead to increase in pollution, and adaption of foreign cultures by youth in the countries being visited by international visitors, nations can get financial strength and remove unemployment from society by promoting tourist industry. Therefore, I believe the advantages of tourism take precedence over its disadvantages. To begin with, there are two significant drawbacks of tourists in a country, namely littering and attraction to overseas cultures for the young generation. Firstly, if there is no proper system of disposal of wastes such as availability of receptacles in tourist locations, it can cause pollution. Secondly, youth can be easily distracted by exposure to foreigners. They will, sometimes, prefer to follow traditions and cultures of foreign civilizations. For instance, in Turkey, a study found that the influx of tourism has resulted in learning overseas languages by the local inhabitants who are in their teenages teenage. Conversely, a national can progress financially by the help of tourism and it will certainly drop unemployment in the country. There are many countries which has beautiful scenary and wounderful landscape which can be beneficial to generate income. Many nations, in the contemporary era, are getting economic benefits from it. For example, a recent report from BBC found that Switzerland earns over 25 billion dollars per annum from tourism. An other crucial advantage of tourism is eradication of unemployment in indeginous people. People can sale local products to foreign tourists to earn a handsome amount for their livelihood. In conclusion, although the influx of tourists in a country can cause more pollution and appeal the youngsters towards foreign cultures, it definitely improves economic conditions and reduces joblessness. Hence, in my opinion, the demerits of tourism are overshadowed by the merits.