Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (15/16 years) (for example for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). Do you agree or disagree?

With the realization of the significance of soft skills, some educationalists have advocated the idea of incorporating unpaid community service into the high school curriculum as a mandatory component. I totally support this policy since it can bring enormous benefits to students as well as society as a whole. One argument in favour of this is that this can have a positive impact on their personal development especially in terms of interpersonal skills, which means that by taking part in charity events and activities, they will come to acquire public skills such as how to negotiate and cooperate with people from different age groups and social backgrounds. This experience can make them more mature, caring and independent, which are qualities necessary in this age, where teenagers become more materialistic and inconsiderate. Furthermore, these social skills can be an asset when they enter working life as they know how to build relationships and maintain them. Another reason why unpaid work should be compulsory is that this can contribute to their emotional development. For example, by meeting populations who need help such as the disabled community, and the homeless, they are likely to become more sympathetic and empathetic. This will inspire them to contribute more to the centre in their later adulthood and as a result, they will become good leaders in their respective fields who have a strong sense of association and work towards inclusiveness as they have become aware of problems another less unfortunate family in society are encountering. In conclusion, I am convinced that this is a sensible idea and a very practical solution to solve the issue of teenagers being selfish and ignorant of real-life problems as this can help raise a better generation with a mindset to help others and a sense of responsibility.