News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

It is true that news editors decide what to put on your TV screen or in the newspapers because they keep an eye on several social factors. Most of the time they choose to highlight negative news because they are more shockingly. However, in my opinion media should give more importance to positive news. Mass media plays an important role in our daily basis and keeps us informed about national or even international affairs. However, more and more people started to question the authenticity of the news they see or hear due to several factors. First of all, editors choose sometimes to bend the news in their favour for the profit of the company or even for their fame. Sometimes they manipulate the truth and they present it that way just because they want to keep that subject alive and sometimes, they keep fuelling it by adding gossip and rumours about that subject. For example, if they hear gossip about a celebrity, they publish that without checking facts or even interviewing the person in the cause. Another factor that makes news editors decide what to show us is the pollical interference. Some news companies tend to be allied with a political party and they keep praising them in order to get money or favours by spreading propaganda. This is a very bad thing because, by doing that, they manipulate a part of their daily users. Speaking almost all the time about bad news it’s a modern thing we developed because articles about natural disasters, crimes, shootings, accidents keep the targeted readers or listeners reactive. They often share the news after seeing them with friends and colleagues. However, in my opinion, I think we indeed get used to bad news because that is what people want; subjects. Regarding the spreading of good news reported over bad ones, I can say that it might be a good thing because, watching the good ones might change something like taking responsibility about some subjects or even taking action in some cases which leads to a nice, beautiful society. In conclusion, I would like to stress the fact that the news is manipulated sometimes because of many reasons like political interference or lack of press freedom. People tend to encounter a plethora of negative news from different sources every day, so they became used to it. This is why media companies should spread more positive and real news for the sake of society.