It is often claimed that electronic devices will soon replace paper books. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that regular paper books will soon be replaced by electronic devices. I mainly agree with the above statement due to several factors that will be discussed in this essay. Firstly, electronic devices are not as bulky as traditional paper books are. This is a very important thing for toddlers and young students who are carrying heavy backpacks full of books on their backs every day to school. For example, there was a study in Serbia a couple of years ago, reporting that primary school children are carrying around ten kilograms of books and school equipment on their backs daily. With the introduction of electronic devices such as portable laptops or tablets, the load on children's backs could be lessened. Secondly, there is an environmental conservation aspect to consider. By switching to electronics, the number of cut-down trees would decrease significantly, since many printing companies mainly get paper from cellulose. For instance, today, many countries try to encourage their citizens to recycle or limit paper usage to a minimum. On the other hand, it depends. The replacement of paper books could very well depend on the government itself. In many underdeveloped countries, public officials could struggle financially and logistically to adapt their current, traditional educational system for an electronic-based one due to large investments in school modernization. For example, if schools in my country decided to switch to electronic devices, they will need to apply for financing with the International Monetary fund. In summary, regular paper books will be replaced by electronic devices sometimes in the near future because of the electronic devices being more portable, lighter, and more environmentally friendly. The governments should establish proper infrastructure and ensure the smooth transition from a once traditional regular paper book system to a digital one.