Some people say that we do not need printed newspaper any more. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this modern world, to get up-to-date information and news is pivotal as every minute something good or bad happens. Actually, there many ways to broadcast the news such as TV or radio but the newspaper was the main source of information for many years. However, due to the internet the demand for newspaper or any printed sources of news is decreasing and becoming old-fashioned. Thus, there are some opinions that printing and circulating the newspaper should be stopped. Personally, I agree with the previously mentioned statement to some extent, will be discussed in this essay. Even though newspaper is out of date version of press it has many readers among the older generation as they got used to it and it became as habitual ritual since their childhood. Moreover, many people prefer it because they have sensory memory. The opportunities offered by newspaper such as highlighting a particular article or even holding the pages to mark where it was read the last time are undeniable. However, the harms that might be caused to the environment while producing papers are outweigh the pros. On the contrary, the are myriad drawbacks of reading the traditional source of news. Firstly, in order to produce the paper it is required a lot of energy and material. As we all know that the main reason of deforestation is namely manufacturing the papers by woods. Consequently, cutting down trees leads to environmental issues such as global warming and carbon dioxide omissions. Secondly, it is impossible to remake or change any misprinted or wrong article which is the main disadvantage in comparison to online news. As a result, many big news organizations are constantly switching to online circulation such as The New York Times or The Guardian. Spontaneously, the fact that newspaper include the daily news but when some urgent or hot news occur it will be printed out the next day which is also one drawback. To conclude, reading newspaper comes with many pros and cons. On the whole, print media might not be as convenient as online but it still has some readers. However, the environmental issues and late release of news cannot be ignored. In my opinion, switching to online step by step the print version of news might be the optimal decision and create more capabilities for both readers and publishers.