In many modern societies, grandchildren rarely spend any quality time with their grandparents. What do you think are the consequences of this ?

In a vast number of societies, grandchildren and grandparents rarely spend time together improving mutual relationships. There are a lot of causes for this condition, one of them is working environments that does not allow the worker to take long vacation. I think it may lead to a couple of negative consequences. Firstly, misunderstandings may occur between the representatives of 2 different generations. In other words, it can be the root cause of ongoing squabbles and arguments. Without knowing each other, it is quite difficult to understand others and come to a certain agreement. Moreover, modern technologies widen the gap between generations creating barriers for live gatherings. Thus, they worsen the current situation in many societies around the globe. For instance, some social surveys revealed that about 30% of modern children visit their grandparents only once a year. Secondly, being keepers of traditions and customs, grandparents may not be able to fully transfer all the cultural knowledge and legacy to younger generations. This can have a negative impact on cultural development in many nations and countries. Also, national identities might be lost as a result of this tendency. For example, in Europe, national events and celebrations are gradually disappearing because young generations are losing the connection with their ancestors. They do not know the history of certain dates and people from the past who made a great impact. In conclusion, the fact that grandchildren rarely spend any quality time with their grandparents may result in cultural degradation and misunderstandings between different generations. I would recommend that youngsters spend weekends with grandparents.