In many countries, people decide to have a child at a later age. Why is this? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

People in many countries now prefer to become parents at an older age which is an entirely different trend when compared to the past. A number of reasons are accountable for adopting parenthood at a later age. Such a development has both merits and demerits; however, its limitations are more than its benefits. One of the primary reasons people delaying having children is the increasing delay in marriages by youngsters. Young people seek more education and want to establish themselves in jobs and careers. Moreover, economic decline in some countries forces the people do not have children unless they have the necessary resources to nurture their children. Moreover, sometimes people themselves are not ready to become parents. For example, especially when women feel unable to combine work and family well, they choose work over family. Hence, this development is becoming more widespread. Undoubtedly, there are certain benefits of older parenthood. Older parents are financially stable to give their children a better tomorrow. Also, parents become emotionally stable by the time they become parents. Though the drawbacks of waiting to start a family are relatively intuitive. At an age, people may face medical complications. For example, after a certain age, especially in the case of women, their fertility begins to decrease, and it becomes more difficult for them to conceive. Children born to older parents themselves may have health complications. Besides, the older people get, the harder it is for them to do anything which is physically and emotionally demanding; and younger children are unable to provide such support. To conclude, having children is a personal choice with personal effects, but the trend of older first-time parents is already shaping the world in significant ways, and its limitations always overpower its benefits.