Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Today, almost everyone yearns to consume a sugary meal or drink. However, this brings with it more undesirable effects on human health than good. Therefore, because sweetened products have substantial amounts of sugar to the extent that it negatively alters health, they should be sold at higher prices in order to discourage people from eating them. Personally, I concur with this notion. In this essay, I will highlight the reasons why this is my view. To begin with, sugary food and drinks increase the risk of a person suffering from decaying teeth. To put this in perspective, when one consumes high levels of sugar even just once, he is prone to bacterial invasion in the mouth and to the eventual tooth problem. Take, for instance, a study conducted by the ministry of health in Malawi on the effects of sugary products on teeth, it was proved that the likelihood of one suffering from tooth illnesses increased to 90 per cent. This can only be avoided if such products ' prices are hicked in order to deter people from consuming them. Additionally, once the high-level sugar content products have their prices raised, it will help lessen the growing rate of malnutrition among many. In other words, due to the fact that sugar gives energy to people for longer periods than any other, people are less likely to eat another meal for a prolonged period hence resulting in long hours of starvation. For example, if a person eats high sugar content foods, he will be energetic for the next 6 hours thus the eventual starvation and the resulting malnutrition. Henceforth, if such products were made expensive, people will be able to have frequent meals from other sources of energy-giving foods. This is why I strongly agree with the urge to increase the prices of high sugar level foods. In conclusion, whether people derive more energy from high sugar level foods or not, it bears more drawbacks than good which result in mouth disease and people missing meals. In my opinion, it is the right thing to do in order to preserve many people's lives.