Some people think the main purpose of school is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Part of the community thinks that schools are meant to create responsible citizens instead of benefitting children on an individual level specifically. I strongly agree with the thoughts and will explain them in my essay. Schools play a vital role in any individuals growth. A child spends approximately 15 to 17 years of his or her total life in schooling. There are a plethora of roles that schools enact in children's life. Students start to learn differentiating between good and bad in their pre-teens from school which is one of the significant attributes. Hence, schools should inculcate important social thoughts rather than just keeping them focused on books and careers. For example, they should do social excursions like visiting elderly homes, helping handicapped people, lending hands to poor people for food and so on. Such activities will result in the strong character development of a child from a young age and will benefit the country and community as a whole. Additionally, schools should not only focus on a child's level of education, but they should also enforce socio-economic activities as part of their curriculum by creating different groups of children including all ages. The education system should be adapted in a very dynamic way in a school. Just letting students understand the benefits of degrees and the amount of money they can earn, will not only ruin a children's life but will also hamper the soft culture in society. Hence making children's selfish and immature. Furthermore, schools should develop a free environment that allows students to put their ideas forward for doing activities that benefits society. For example, doing a small act and creating money and then donating it. Such freedom of thought will help children to think about society at large and benefit it. To conclude, Schools should focus on creating good citizens by adapting multiple positive thoughts and making this a part of the education system as individual development will result positive if social thoughts in children's are fed strongly.