Recently, abortion increases rapidly and becomes a controversial topic. Some people suppose that abortion should be legal while others are against it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, abortion is done by a lot of people, this has caused many debates in society as some think it should be legalised whereas others disagree. In my opinion, I think it should be allowed. However, the essay below will discuss both views at length. First and foremost, it has to be noted that some pregnancies are not voluntary. We are living in a world where some men rape innocent women. This may result in unwanted pregnancy which needs to be aborted. Therefore, I think removing unwanted pregnancies should be legalised. For instance, in 2003, my cousin sister was gang-raped by some men when she was coming from school at the age of 13. She unwillingly fell pregnant and the court allowed her to abort. If the court had not agreed, she would be having a fatherless baby at a tender age and that would affect her for the rest of her life. On the other hand, some are of the opinion that, abortion must not be allowed because it leads to the loss of innocent souls. However, I disagree with this thought because such children are sometimes not loved by their mothers as they are a constant reminder of the rape. Moreso, every child afather a father figure in their life. For example, in South Africa, there is a television reality show called 'utatakho' which means who is my father? In this show, children search for their real fathers in society, and in the case of rape, the child will not find their father especially if the mother does not know the rapist. In conclusion, some think removing unwanted pregnancies should be seen as illegal because precious souls are lost. I, however, disagree with the assertion because some get pregnant through rape and such needs to be aborted. These and other issues have been discussed above.