In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In up-to-present society, businesses increasingly make efforts in enhancing the novelty of their products in alternative ways. This is primarily based on psychological theory on adjusting customer behaviours and increasingly lead to a negative development in the advertising industry. While customers are likely to purchase what they need, advertisement is trying to diversify their demand. It is feasibly recognised that human's nature has the instinct of exploring new things. Tesla, for example, takes advantage of this chief principle in psychology to gradually approach, successively launch new products and become dominant in the market with slogans emphasis that: First, how different they are from their rivals and, second, what breakthrough values they are able to offer to the customers and, especially, the indirectly relevant factors such as motorists and pedestrians. Thus, with those tactics, Tesla educates the market that their novel products are necessary for society's development. However, this could somehow lead to the escalation in format and packaging innovation, not the growing core value of the products that the customers look for. It is revenue that makes the market-share among businesses get more intense, particularly daily necessities. Coca Cola and Pepsi, for instance, the two holding lion share in the beverage market are constantly rebranding their bottles and cans to bring the sense of peculiar appearance to attract attention, nevertheless, customers are now rarely convinced since they have acknowledged the strategies and got fed of it. To summarise, the incentive that the businesses usually claim their goods as new lies in consumer psychology and this could even be considered beneath dignity under certain circumstances. Still, some companies prevent this negative trend and just produce advertisements bringing honesty and trustworthiness to the potential consumers.