Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Recently, the debate on whether hosting an international sports event is good for the country. Since different countries have different situations or have different ideas about the benefits and costs. This essay will examine this point. To begin with, Hosting an international sports event can benefit one country by prospering the tourism industry. Hosting an international sports event such as the Olympics required athletes from all over the world to come to this country in order to take part in the competition. Those athletes can get a closer look at and a better understanding of this country which they may love during the trip. Moreover, the international sports event will attract people around the world to gather around for the show. And while they are in the country, they may do some shopping or book a hotel, which can improve the tourism industry and increase the export as well as the GDP, therefore benefiting the country. On the contrary, debt may be a drawback of hosting an international sports event. Being the host can be extremely costly, the country needs to update or build the infrastructures and all the equipment needed to meet international standards, which consider being very expensive. Besides, the large-scale projects are usually for a one-off use, due to the unquiet feature, those infrastructures may not be reused easily which can be a waste. Nevertheless, bidding is required for some international sports events such as Olympics or tournaments. Take the bids of being the host of Olympic as an example, the application process required almost $20 million and only the IOC members can be on the waiting list. As a result, money spent on bidding or building may be large and if one country doesn’t have enough budget or is hard to balance the spending, it can easily get the country into debt and result in negative consequences such as depreciation or losing investor confidence, which may cause an economic downturn to the country. All in all, whether a country can benefit from being the host of an international sports event depend on its own capacity. If it has a large budget and can handle the spending will as well as earning from the tourism industry, being the host for sure be good for the country as it can not only increase its GDP but also let more people know about its own culture. On the other hand, if the country doesn’t have strong power, it may be bad for it as being the host as it can easily get the country in debt or economic recession.