Traffic congestion is a major problem in most large cities ,nowadays. What are the causes of traffic congestion in cities? what could the government do to reduce this problem?

Recently, many cities developments face serious issues about traffic congestion. The study shows that the main causes of traffic jam are the large number of private cars ownerships occupying the streets. This essay will explain the reasons behind traffic congestions and the possible solutions that can be implemented. To begin with, the main reason for traffic congestion is many people easily own cars. Firstly, Car prices are getting cheaper year by year leading many citizens can buy them effortlessly. Secondly, even cars taxes are considerably low. For example, Buying a simple city car only cost around one hundred million rupiahs including taxes. It causes every single household can afford it and use it as their daily commuting mode. On the other hand, The government budget for roads developments is limited. As a result, Many cars will occupy road spaces and cause traffic jams. However, there are solutions for preventing road congestions happen that can be implemented by Government. Firstly, Government should limit the convenience of buying and owning cars by increasing cars prices and taxes Secondly, the minimum requirement of a driving license should be tightened. For example, Japan Governments increase the cars taxes to ten-tenth of cars prices. They also prohibit cars from accessing main arterial roads. As a result, traffic congestion is rarely seen because the roads are free from cars. In conclusion, Traffic congestions can happen if many citizens drive their cars as daily commutes. To solve the problems, The Governments should reduce the convenience of buying and owning cars, so that the citizens will think twice before purchasing them.