Some people are of the opinion that children should be rewarded for good behaviour. Others think they should be punished for bad behaviour. Discuss both views and give your personal opinion and reasons.

The debate over a child ’s moral education is difficult because of the various viewpoints each party holds. The question of discipline is exceptionally important, moreover whether to treat good behaviour with a neutral attitude or to just focus on correcting incorrect actions. My personal opinion is that any positive actions ought to be immediately recognized by the parent and vice versa for negative conduct. This balanced approach makes for a more positive outcome for both the child and family. Firstly, rewarding a good act immediately signals a positive reaction in the child ’s brain which should encourage the child to want to behave similarly in the future. Failure to recognize such behaviour leaves the child with the same emotional feeling as if they had done nothing. For instance, research shows that children who were given a treat for good behaviours tend to repeat it five times more than children who weren't. Therefore, rewarding the child regularly for good behaviour enforces the action making it more likely to repeat itself in the future. Secondly, punishing the son or daughter is also necessary, and failure to discipline could have serious consequences in the future. For example, if a child has no clear concept of respect for elders or authority, it is quite possible to encounter more serious problems later in life. This pattern is prevalent in marginal neighbourhoods throughout the world. Thus, it is essential to immediately discipline the child whenever witnessing an unruly act to enforce the correct behaviour from an early age. To conclude, both bad and good actions need to be recognized and dealt with immediately to correct or encourage future actions. Failure to do either of these could result in a less fortunate life or youth who rarely performs any good acts for anyone. Hence, it is critical that both types of behaviour are recognized and dealt with accordingly for the benefit of the child in the future.