in some countries, fast food restaurants and supermarkets give money to schools to promote their products. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Over the last few decades, extensive scientific research and many medical journals have proven that consumption of food items with excessive amounts of sodium, saturated fats and added sugars are harmful to one's health. These are usually classified under "fast food items". Some fast- food restaurants and supermarkets have been collaborating with schools to sell their products. This essay will discuss at length this trend and the negative aspects associated with it. Firstly, one needs to address why this development has been picking up pace in so many countries. Because school-going children comprise a large percentage of the customers for these restaurant chains, selling their products directly in school canteens helps them expand their consumer base, while bringing in more profit for these companies. The school also benefits on a financial basis as they will take a commission from these companies for setting up stalls on their campus. While this trend may be profitable for both the parties involved, there are certain drawbacks associated with it. Although, junk food and certain ready-to-eat items from supermarkets are easy to afford and a popular choice, they are detrimental to one's well being. Example of damage to health includes elevated insulin levels, increased cholesterol and slowed metabolic rate to name a few. They can be injurious to both their physical and mental well being in the long run. Therefore institutions need to make a well-informed decision regarding what brands they choose to collaborate with and instead of advocating for fast food brands they could promote brands that sell nutritious food instead. To sum up, although an association of supermarkets and restaurants with schools has been on the rise and is profitable for them, it causes more harm than good to the pupils. There are many deleterious effects to overall health which are associated with it and schools need to make more conscious choices for the betterment of their students.