Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other believe that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by some that tv and print media ads are good at swaying people's minds into buying products, while others believe that because of their abundance they no longer serve this purpose. Although it is in human's nature not to concentrate on things that are common, the advertisements still are quite successful in increasing the sales of a number of brands. On the one hand, there is a group who thinks that we do not concentrate on the things which we see on daily basis. That is because our mind is designed in that particular way to protect us from overloading information.If this would not be the case, we will not be able to do even our daily tasks. For example, the majority of the school students only retained a certain amount of information during their examinations. However, I believe that this does not apply to every ad. On the other hand, there are people who believe that ads are quite successful due to increased sales figures after many successful promotions. They say that if advertisements are not successful then how tocome the sales of the merchandise they promote grow so much that these companies are able to afford famous celebrities, who charge a ridiculous amount of money. For instance, Ufone, a famous telecom brand, hire expensive actors for its advertising campaigns, which are quite popular among the general public. In conclusion, although because of their abundance we humans do not remember the majority of these ads, there are still many that are successful in persuading us into buying things that we otherwise would not. That is why I am of the opinion that they are effectively serving their purpose.