Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The modern advancement in technology and automation have cut down the manual labour need. Hence, working time should be decreased. I completely disagree that working time should be decreased. Nowadays, sophisticated instruments are all over the place and labour time should not be cut back because these tools have to be managed by workers to maintain full efficiency. Most technologies need human know-how to operate this equipment to maintain effective production at all times and this will increase the task hour of staff in the company. more so, some sophisticated technology needs the full attention of the operator at all times. For instance, in Germany, in 2009 the production of vehicles using automated devices took more working time as staff always make sure the device produced effective results. Hence, workers hours should not be reduced because of the presence of modern equipment. Furthermore, expansion in technology and automatic devices have reduced the need for manual labour, however, labour time should not be declined because these gadgets can defect at any time. Although the most automated devices work perfectly most of the time, they can still break down at any moment and will need the full attention of the labourer. In addition, an operator has to be on close watch to detect any anomaly in the production machine in other to avert any malfunction promptly. For example, Toyota company recorded a flaw in their engine advancement, but this was seen by the labourers on the ground working full time alongside the machine. In a nutshell, staff can detect any problems in the workplace when working full hour. In conclusion, modernization in tech and auto-machine advancement has reduced the need for labourers, therefore time put into performance should be reduced, I completely disagree because workers need to work full time to manage the apparatus and find any fault in the engine.