Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sugar, it's one of the highest consumed products, it's not only used for homemade purposes but also to manufacture a variety of foods and beverages. The levels of sugar consumed are alarming and recently, governments in many countries have imposed special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar. People have a different opinion towards the special taxes, few are satisfied by the step as it may reduce the alarming consumption of sugar, while others dislike the imposition of taxes as it'll cost them higher than usual. First, Sugar has a lot of unhealthy features and is known for its contribution to obesity, diabetes, and many more health issues. The imposition of special taxes might turn out bad for the foods and beverages manufacturing companies, therefore, they may focus to reduce sugar levels in their products by enhancing the research and development sector of their company, This will result in products with lower levels of sugar, making them healthy and tasty at the same time. This could be the reason behind people supporting such initiatives by the government. Second, companies cannot always find a perfect replacement for sugar, therefore they cannot reduce the sugar level in their product, this will lead to the implementation of special taxes, which will indeed increase the pricing of the product. This change might not be favourable to either, companies or consumers. It's a reasonable point to not support the special taxes. In conclusion, the latest implementations by the government have their own merits and demerits, in my opinion, the government should reformulate the law in such a direction, that it restricts companies to use a high level of sugar and maintain the pricing of the product, such a step would make products healthier and affordable at the same time, both, companies and consumers stay satisfied.