Today, most people get married and give birth in their thirties rather than when they are younger. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many people decide to get married and have children in the 30’s or older. In Indonesia, it usually happens in big cities such as Jakarta. Most people choose to have graduated their study and have a stable career before they decide to start a family. This essay believes that this is a positive trend for people considering beginning married life at a mature age. First of all, being married in the thirties gives a huge age gap between parents and children; thus it will be hard for them to have a close relationship. Furthermore, the huge gap will have an impact on children in future. For instance, when the children begin to be teenagers, they will find problems such as miscommunication because the parents do not understand their children's problems. Second of all, the people who get married and give birth in their thirties can be well-prepared for starting a family. Usually, the people in their 30’s have stable jobs and stable finances. Moreover, good financials are a fundamental factor in a family, because financial problems are one of the biggest factors in divorce. In addition, couples who get married in their thirties are more mature psychologically, thus they can solve household problems wisely. To sum up, I believe that beginning a family in the 30's will give a big gap year between parents and children. However, it is a positive development trend to make a long-lasting relationship.