Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. Discuss your views regarding the same.

Sporting occasions conducted globally often play a vital role not only in developing peaceful relationships between the neighbouring countries but also a sense of patriotism in a positive manner. This essay would elaborate on these views in detail. To being with, international events such as Commonwealth or Olympic Games are the best examples of bringing different territories together and thus helping to wipe out any enmity amongst them. In these sports, the players compete with each other irrespective of their rivalry and each one of them performs to their fullest by bagging medals and making their motherland feel happy of them. For example, matches played between India and Pakistan not only brings the players together but also gives the audience an opportunity to understand and mingle with each other. Though temporarily, the players also forget the tensions between them and enjoy the game by embracing each other after the game. There are many instances when both the countrymen exhibited a sports spirit despite sociopolitical issues. On the other hand, these competitions also help in releasing patriotism in an optimistic way. These sporting events help in developing the feelings of nationalism amongst the participants. The players thrive to achieve medals by making their country feel proud of them. There are many national and international contestants who accept challenges to achieve their goals, and their nations head is held higher. These games even help in elevating the emotions of patriotism in a much more positive way. In conclusion, popular sporting events play not only an important part in decreasing tensions at the international level but also in liberating patriotic feelings.