Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more materials and goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree that constantly increasing production in an appropriate goal?

Producing goods for exportation and also for self-consumption has always been of extreme importance to a country’s economy. There are the ones who believe that constantly rising production should be a country’s goal. In my way of thinking, I agree that being productive is beneficial to obtain comfortable financial health, however, I also believe that it can be detrimental to the community as for the environment. The exportation of materials and goods has a relevant impact on the worldwide economy. In order to meet the most recent requirements of our society, nations try to produce more and more devices, gadgets, food or construction materials. Therefore, if a country sells more, the revenue will be higher. In addition, provided that there is an increase in the number of factories, for example, more jobs are created, which is beneficial to that place. Furthermore, another positive aspect is the fact that a nation that produces more, has more probability of being self-sustainable, spending less money on importations. Despite these arguments, increasing production might negatively reflect on the community and on the environment. Over-exploration of land in order to find some important metals to construct batteries, for example, can be detrimental to the area surrounding that place, as well as for the community living there. Unfortunately, deforestation is a quite usual result of these practices, and it impacts animal lives, as well as the air quality. It is also well known that carbon dioxide emissions are released in high amounts, as a result of overproduction. In just a few decades, it is forecasted that the problems that will appear because of these unsustainable activities will be tremendous, with negative effects on health and nature. While it is important to a country to produce materials in order to be prosperous, it is also mandatory to find more sustainable methods to treat waste and greenhouse emissions. In conclusion, taking the aforementioned points together, I believe that there must be a balance between the levels of production and the sustainability of a country. Despite selling goods being necessary for a nation to be economically healthy, it is also vital to find solutions to protect our communities and our environment.