Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some would argue that parents ought to teach their children how to be responsible citizens while others say that school is the best place to learn about this. While believing that school is responsible for showing the student how to behave, I believe that it is better for parents to instil value in their child to behave well in society. On the one hand, tutoring students through school and delegating to the teacher the responsibility to instruct students a model for good behaviour, it could be for them a titanic effort. This is due that the teacher are really well prepared to teach a specific subject but they could lose focus if they take additional responsibility. For example, in the past it was a trend to inculcate student about the role model to follow but in the end this system was a failure and the duties of the teachers have changed since then. However, I believe that this does not solve the problem because instilling value through school is not the best method for students to learn good modal. On the other hand, parents should be the mentor of their children to be good citizens. By showing them the rules of our society, teaching them the different values and how to apply them in their daily life with other people. Therefore, the best way for them to learn about behaviour is from their home. For example, it is customary for people in Japan to work with their children at the very early ages the way that they need to behave, that is why Japan is considered one of the best countries for people of good value. I believe this method is preferable because it is easy to learn the value and to follow our parent’s examples. In conclusion, although teachers can help students to follow good values in their life, it is not their main function and responsibility and that is why it is more important to pass the value on them at home.