Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many food and drink manufacturers add a lot of sugar to their products, which causes many health problems. Some people think we should raise the price of these goods to restrain the public from consuming sugar. In my view, I disagree with this opinion because the potential issues will be taken. Granted, I cannot deny that increasing the cost of sugar products may yield some benefits for individuals and governments. From a personal perspective, this policy might prompt individuals to consume less sugar, as heightened prices often lead people to critically assess the necessity of certain foods and drinks. From a societal perspective, the higher charge for sugary foods may bring more taxes to local governments, which can be allocated towards enhancing local infrastructure, including hospitals and schools, ultimately elevating the overall living standards in the area. However, reaching the above conclusions does not necessarily mean the drawbacks of this policy can be ignored. For one thing, an increase in the price of sugary foods could result in reduced consumer spending, posing a threat to the food industry as it may struggle to secure adequate orders, potentially leading to an economic downturn. For another thing, it is inequitable for low-income families to increase the price of sugar because they may rely on cheap high- sugar foods to live. For example, there are many construction workers who earn limited salaries in the world, and a meal containing lots of sugar is the predominant source of energy for them. To summarize, while increasing the prices of sugary goods might aid in reducing sugar intake among the public, I disagree with this perspective due to its adverse effects on the national economy and limited impact.