With increasing population and ever growing urban centers, many countries are losing their natural beauty spots. What benefits are there to protect places of natural beauty? How can this be solved?

With the growing population and demands for increasing buildings for accommodation and trade, many countries are replacing existing green areas with urban centres. While this may seem like the only option in hand, there are numerous reasons for protecting such natural landscapes that society could benefit from. I will be explaining some of the benefits and available options before reaching a concrete conclusion. Firstly, a green environment has a direct effect on improving mental health and well being, as in high-intense cities many people suffer repeated headaches, anxiety, and other mental and health issues. This happens due to the nowadays demanding work environments which push most employees to the edge. Scientists and doctors have proved that walking in a natural park could be a smart solution to avoid similar problems. Additionally, trees absorb carbon dioxide from the air and act as filters for air pollution, while in return we get the oxygen we breathe. Natural parks can support local and international tourism which could provide more employment opportunities and increase national income. For example, every year, thousands of people visit Central Park in New York, and others look forward to visiting. So, governments should consider such areas as part of their touristic attractions, hereby allocating enough budgets to maintain them. When there is a need to eliminate green landscapes in urban cities or replace them with residential or commercial areas, real estate developers should explore sustainable building models. As the current trends in urban planning include green rooftops and gardens that amuse its residents and improve air quality in high-intensity cities. In conclusion, there are many ways city officials can benefit from existing landscapes and natural spaces as they could improve the health of local communities but also generate tangible profits.