In modern society teachers are a less important source of knowledge for young children compared with the past. Discuss how far you agree with this statement?

Over the past ten years or so there have been an increasing number of parents and educational experts discussed whether teachers in modern society become a less important source of knowledge for young children compared with the past. Some parents believe that teachers are less important for their children to acquire knowledge because of the significant amount of online open courses. However, some educational experts suggest that teachers still play an important role in teaching young children as they could give their students more direct suggestions and feedback face-to-face without any problems. This essay will discuss the two sides of argument and why I believe that teachers are more important for young children to acquire their knowledge for the following reasons. First of all, it is generally accepted that young children in modern society could access internet easier compared with the past. That is, a considerable number of online open courses could be provided by a various of non-profit organizations or schools, which could give more options for young children to learn more different expertise or specialties. For example, Khan Academy and Udemy, which are online platforms for self-studying, have been extremely popular over the past five years. In addition, these platforms could provide young children or students with greater opportunities to learn some difficult subjects such as Calculus, Biochemistry and Physics with relatively low costs and flexible time schedules to arrange their own study paces without any problems or difficulties. On the other hand, it can be asserted that teachers could be more significant for young children or students to acquire knowledge in modern society. That is, teachers could provide not only their expertise but also their personal experiences or perspectives, which could lead their students to find their own interests. Moreover, it is widely believed that modern teachers ’ roles have changed significantly over the past ten years because an increasing number of students problems such as truancy and internet addiction happened frequently, and teachers could face these problems and need to adjust their roles from mentors to counselors to assist their students to cultivate the right behaviors and attitudes toward the schools and society. In conclusion, it has been argued that teachers could play a key role in teaching young children in modern society because they could provide their students with more effective means such as counselling and personal experiences or perspectives to assist their students to acquire not only enough knowledge but also important personal independent skills, including communication and leadership. I believe that these benefits will outweigh the advantages of learning through online open courses because students need both sufficient knowledge and correct values toward their life and society.