The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to its huge impact on quality of life, being overweight has become a major public health concern lately that could lead to lifelong diseases like diabetes. Some people argue that the best way to prevent this chronic illness is by actively doing exercise from a young age through sports lessons as a part of school curriculum. I personally agree if this scheme is applied, as it will build children's character as well as encourage pupils to love the sport from childhood. First and foremost, getting involved in sports activities at school will develop children ’s character because some sports, such as football and baseball require great teamwork to win. Teamwork itself can teach pupils to work with fellow humans with different personalities, which I believe will benefit them to expand their networking in professional life later. In addition, such activities also promote the sense of competition that makes children realize their potential and strive for it. Secondly, having physical education as a part of the school syllabus will encourage children to love sports from childhood and make it a part of their lifestyle later as adults. I recall the moment when I was in elementary school and had swimming as one of the mandatory subjects at school. Through the lesson, now I put swimming as my regular exercise and do it twice a month to maintain my weight. Lastly, children who are doing sports activities regularly will be less likely to suffer from obesity which also prevents them from chronic disease caused by weight gain. To conclude, I support the idea that schools make sports one of their subjects because it delivers positive effects on pupils' character and forms sustainable behaviour in adulthood. This is as long as children are given a balanced proportion between physical and science lessons at school.