Some people are of the opinion that children should be rewarded for good behaviour. Others think they should be punished for bad behaviour. Discuss both views and give your personal opinion and reasons.

Quite a few people believe that if a child is well mannered, then he should be provided with gifts. On other hand, certain people are of the opinion that if a child is ill mannered then he must be punished. In this essay, we will be discussing both sides of the opinion and providing our view point on the matter. In my opinion, if a child behaving well is conditioned with a prize or a gift then the child becomes habituated to such an action. Incentivising childrens actions in the growing up years can have a detrimental effect later on. for instance, In the absence of a gift, kids have a tendency to put up a fuss and they will not understand the true reason of being mannered. furthermore, they will start treating their own behavioral pattern as a trade rather than character building exercise. On the other hand, punishing kids for their moods will leave a negative imprint on their young minds. Consequently, having a major impact as they grow up. Any punishing act, will result in children being scared to express themselves, making them under confident. For example, a survey conducted in USA found that people who were punished when young, found it difficult to make friends later on in life and prefer to be loners. In conclusion, Rewarding and punishing for the behaviour of a child have their demerits. In my view, a child must be allowed to behave as he wants with certain rules and regulations in place by parents along with constant monitoring