Some people believe allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Currently, there are a debate in the society whether children should or should not be allowed to make their own choices on their daily matters. While some people believe that giving the children more agency to make a decision is important, the others think that letting children to do so will shape them into selfish individuals who only think about their own wishes. In this essay, I will argue that giving children an authority in decision making for their daily activities will help their psychological and emotional development. However, the caregivers should always assist and provide guidance. Allowing children to make their own choices are an avenue to provide children with a sense of trust. When given the capacity to make a decision, children will feel that they are being trusted by the adults. This will support their psychological and emotional development as they feel loved and trusted. Additionally, allowing children to choose what they want will boost their confident and self-esteem. Having said that, letting children to decide everything themselves make them feel neglected; thus it affected their empathy and social skills. Consequently, children might care less or become indifferent about their surroundings. Therefore, the parents need to be careful of how much agency they have given to their children, especially in a younger age. While allowing their children to choose their own wishes, parents also need to provide them with guidance and explain the risk of their actions. Hence, the children will understand the consequences of the decision they make. Finally, giving children an opportunity to make their own choices are integral for their emotional well-being. However, the caregivers and adults around them should accompany the practice with sufficient guidance and should not make them feel neglected.