At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Population in some countries comprises a lesser number of elders as compared to the younger people. This disturbing proportion of society in any nation certainly has more disadvantages than its advantages. This essay discusses both the merits and demerits of this situation and analyses why it is not acceptable. There are numerous advantages of having more young adults in the country. Primarily, youngsters make a bigger contribution to the economic growth of the country through their potential and determination than older people. Also, they are equipped with the latest information and technological knowledge which makes them more suitable for present-day jobs. From the health point of view also, they are not a liability on the public purse because they stay healthy and fit as compared to their counterparts. Most importantly, the younger generation does not depend on others, whereas older people always need the assistance of others in their day-to-day activities. On the other hand, there are notable disadvantages of comparatively higher numbers of young adults in the country. Mainly, older people are the connecting links between the past and the present generation. So, without them, cultural and traditional diversity will be eradicated from society. Next is the experience and the skills which older people acquire in personal and professional aspects throughout their life provide them with better insight and ideologies which help them to advise and counsel the young adults in a better way. Therefore, without the blessings and guidance of elders, the path of success becomes longer and tougher for youth. In conclusion, it is discerned that there are few immediate advantages of having more young people in the country. However, the disadvantages of this situation outweigh its advantages. Since, without the older citizens, the younger generation will always lack the skills and experience in life which they can learn from their elders.