A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

Animals and human beings together form a crucial component to the environment, without which the functioning of the ecosystem would be impossible. Animals, being living creatures, are believed to have feelings of pain or loss just as human beings do. Many people believe in animal rights and animal welfare. PETA is concerned to provide a painless, end of suffering from any pain or injury, a life of freedom without any harm to animals. Instead care should be provided to animals by delivering them a suitable environment, nutrition diet and veterinary treatment. However some people feel that animals are important to fulfill their needs. Domesticated animals such as cows or goats or buffalo are used to provide milk to human beings. Another domesticated animal such as a dog is used for human protection. In earlier times, horses were used as a means of traveling by humans. With the increase of human needs, animal exploitation spiked up. People started exploiting animals for clothes. Research labs used rats for testing medicine which resulted in cutting them and leaving them to die. Slaughter houses used for pigs and cows for human consumption in the form of meat increased, where they were given either slow death or cut with a one-stroke knife. To conclude with, in my opinion, killing animals just for human needs such as food or research or clothes is unethical, instead human beings should thrive to provide caring and healing atmosphere for animals and start living together in harmony with nature.