NOWADAYS, MANY PEOPLE PREFER TO LIVE ALONE; IS THIS A POSITIVE OR A NEGATIVE DEVELOPMENT?

Living together with family has always been common among communities for decades, but nowadays, inhabitants prefer living alone apart from their families. However, I think it has various disadvantages for society. Hence it is a negative development. First and foremost, living alone can negatively affect a person's health. Since working professionals undergo stress, both physically and mentally, living alone can make them vulnerable to mental ailments like depression, stress, and anxiety, thus affecting their sleep cycle. To avoid going to the doctor, many individuals consume drugs, further affecting their health. All of this combined can devastate their personal and professional lives. For instance, a WHO study reveals that 40% of the population living alone end up getting into depression due to their families' lack of emotional support. Another potential drawback is the enormous cost of living alone in tier 1 metropolises. In a modern metropolis, the cost of rent and other services such as homemaking, ration, electricity, and water bills can go as high as one can expect. These costly expenses can take a significant chunk from their salaries; since they have for it all alone. On the other hand, living with a group can be much cheaper than expected and help manage funds. For instance, a WEF study revealed that living alone in a tier 1 metropolis is 38% more costly than living in a tier 2 city. To conclude, the public can be prone to mental health diseases such as depression, stress, and anxiety. The costly expenses of living alone in a metropolis are the main disadvantages of negative development.