Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

Undoubtedly, with the rapid development of the education system, the interest of students in university curriculums has become increasingly significant. Whereas some people believe that studying other subjects in addition to their core subjects can help students gain more knowledge, others argue that focusing on a qualification is more important. From my perspective, I am in favour of the former, and the reasons will be elaborated on as follows. An array of reasons explains why students need to study other subjects. Firstly, if students only study their core subjects, it might limit their skills. That is, individuals not only learn professional knowledge but also gain essential work-related skills such as problem-solving, teamwork, and communication skills. Take Taiwan as an example, many people who graduated from higher education or had excellent academic performance found it difficult to get a job because they lacked good communication skills, leading to failed job interviews. By contrast, it is noticeable that getting a qualification is crucial for future careers. This is to say, many industries require a certificate for their jobs, such as doctors, nurses, teachers, and so on. Even though some individuals have many years of work experience, they cannot work in these fields without a certificate. For example, it takes more than four years to complete the bachelor's level of study to become a qualified teacher in Australia. If students cannot finish their degree, they cannot work in any schools as a qualified teacher. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned reasons, I firmly agree that university students need to concentrate on getting their qualifications.