Some people today believe that it is acceptable to use physical force to discipline children, but others feel it is completely unacceptable. Discuss this view and give your opinion.

Researchers define physical punishment as the use of force to control or change a behaviour. Some people think that physical force is a good idea while others believe that it should be banned. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and explain my support of the latter view. On the one hand, corporal punishments can be effective to stop misbehaviours. For instance, due to the fear of being punished, children are respectful and stay more concentrated on their goals. They are also encouraged to get excellent academic performance at school. Moreover, children after getting punished will think twice before doing something bad. Even so, psychologists find that these children may deal with mental issues when they get older. On the other hand, it is important for the kids to feel safe in their learning environment. In addition, children learn from their parents. So people who use physical discipline may be teaching their young children to solve conflicts with physical aggression. Also, this kind of discipline may cause the children to tell lies in order to avoid punishment. To reduce corporal punishment, adults need to remain calm and communicate in an appropriate way to get it right when a child misbehaves. For example, the elders should explain their preferred behaviour understanding the fact that children are too young to know what is right or wrong. To conclude, although physical punishment may work in some ways, I strongly believe that it can create an atmosphere of fear and we should focus on more positive approaches to discipline.