Cars damage the environment and their use is increasing. Why? How can this be controlled?

Automobiles have long been known as a groundbreaking invention of human beings. Yet they pose a threat to the environment; paradoxically, the usage of them is still growing and becoming more popular. In this essay, I am going to shed lights on this issue as well as depicting how government could address it. There are two main reasons why people continue to commute by cars regardless of their impacts on the environment. First and foremost, few of vehicles could per se substitute cars due to the convenience that they bring to users. In other words, having full control of the journey is a critical point of driving private automobiles. People could drive whenever they want without being interfered by external factors. Second of all, there is a much higher level of safety and security for driving a car relative to using public transport such as buses. Therefore, automobiles could help people stay away from unintended problems. For example, girls tend to avoid choosing bus services at night because they are prone to face with criminals like thieves, bullies, or even murderers. Notwithstanding, governments could cope with these issues by enacting policies pertaining to public transport. To address the first problem, governments could bank on the bus system with more cutting-edge and comfortable buses. At the same time, subsidising the ticket price is a favourable solution to raise the demand of using buses by citizens. As a result, more and more people will use the public service due to its economical value offered. Moreover, safety and security will be improved, if there are more CCTV cameras outfitted on each bus. Given this, criminals would lose their incentives to commit a crime, while citizens feel much safer to opt for such a vehicle; therefore, less and less private automobiles would appear on streets. By and large, it is understandable that people are still in favour of cars when it comes to commuting and travelling. Governments should spare no effort to bring public transit system closer to each person. Only by doing so could we combat climate crisis, which is truly a catastrophe to the whole humanity.