Some scientists think it is very soon that computers will be more intelligent than humans. Some people think it is a positive development, while others think it is a negative development. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

The idea that, in a not-too-distant future, artificial intelligence will outsmart humans has polarized the public, with some considering it positive as opposed to others associating it with serious repercussions for mankind. This essay is to shed light on both viewpoints and presents my position. Humans could derive substantial benefits from machines whose intelligence surpasses their own. Extraordinarily smart machines could take technology to new heights, hence solving insoluble problems for humans. For example, the dire shortage of human organs could be addressed with synthetic organs that are feasible thanks to nanotechnology. Similarly, a great concern of countries with ageing populations could be resolved by robot home helpers for the elderly. These machines seem to be merely conceptual, but they could become true if computers that are multiple times more intelligent than humans do the work. However, there ought to be some rational explanation for people that are pessimistic about the future where machines with intelligence eclipse humans. Firstly, automation could be a disruptive effect of technology on the labour market. A variety of skilled tasks such as translation or legal research are gradually taken over by computers. What is worse is that even creative tasks that used to be deemed less susceptible to AI takeover such as writing novels have also been performed by AI. Eventually, human labour will become obsolete, leaving people without jobs to earn a living, resulting in an economic crisis. Secondly, the idea that AI might one day dominate the Earth is predicated on a fundamental principle. That is, humans run the world not because they are the fastest or the strongest, but because they are the smartest. So when something rivals their intelligence, humans are likely to be dethroned from the top of the evolutionary ladder. In conclusion, even though the benefits that are brought by artificial intelligence could not be denied, I am not optimistic about a future where creatures that are not human gain the upper hand.