Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

Plenty of people choose to watch foreign films instead of local productions. The reasons may relate to promotions from movie companies and the viewers' preferences. To support local movie industries, governments should provide more financial aid to help them create more types of movies. Rather than local films, audiences tend to watch foreign films because of the advertisements from marketing and movie companies, as well as viewers' personal taste. Firstly, foreign films normally rely on the marketing team to promote their production in other places. More precisely, the marketing team plan a strategy to attract people, such as a huge billboard or online advertisement. Through social media, those foreign movies can be popular, and bring more audiences to the theatre. Secondly, viewers' tastes can differ, and they may all prefer to watch foreign films. As a recent report has shown, the majority of local people enjoy watching foreign action movies instead of the local ones. The preference for foreign films may lead local movie indusries weakend; therefore, the governments should support them to compete with foreign film industries. By funding and providing new technology, the local movie makers can create better scripts, animations, and even invite famous actors to feature. Moreover, these local film industries can produce more types of movies than before. Thereby, more audiences bring more income, and more investment assists the industries in developing superior products. To conclude, people decide to watch foreign films rather than local productions owing to the advertisements and personal taste. Since the decision caused the local movie industies become worse than before, the government should support them by finance aids and technology tools to prevent their collapse.