Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Environmental problem has been a controversial issue, some people think the major problem nowadays is the loss of endangered species of plants and animals while some hold the view that there are else things that are more crucial in regard to this issue. I agree with the latter thought and am going to express my opinions in the following. On one hand, it is undeniable that the variety of species of plants and animals are declining, which make our living environment less diversified in living creatures. Take Hong Kong as an example, due to the soaring population and limited land space, the government has been reclaiming countryside and sea in order to develop more area for residential or business purpose. In other words, the habitus of plants and animals were destroyed and it could be fatal to some species. On the other hand, in most developed or developing cities, the problem of air pollution is commonly recognised. Consequently, people’s quality of life has been tremendously affected. China, which is known as “World Factory”, is a typical example of suffering from air pollution due to its fast growing economic activity. Having lots of machines utilized in the production process, they eject a considerable amount of waste gas which is detrimental to human’s health. It is unavoidable that people living nearby will breath in those harmful gas. In long term, it can result, in serious health problems of a majority of people in the affected area. To conclude, both problems are negatively affecting people’s life. Air pollution, nonetheless, causes more harm to us and I think measures have to be taken immediately in order to ameliorate the externalities brought by it.