Meat production requires relatively more land than crop production. Some people think that as land is becoming scarce, the world’s meat consumption should be reduced. What measures could be taken to reduce the world’s meat consumption? What kinds of problems might suck measures cause?

Most people agree that in many parts of the world meat is overconsumed. Eating more animal proteins than necessary has led to problems for not only people ’s health but also for the environment, as meat is difficult to digest and produce. I believe, the major reasons for people overconsuming meat are culture and cost; the solutions include an increased awareness of negative health and decreased availability of meat produce. Throughout modern history, the trend of eating meat on a regular basis has become a normal part of many cuisines around the world. (explanation) Most people agree that meat is delicious, and as such, it is no surprise that it has become a key ingredient in many dishes like beef Stroganov, pepperoni pizza, and butter chicken. (example) I, myself, consume meat often since it is an ingredient in many of the dishes my family and I prepare. Furthermore, it is arguable, that purchasing cheap meat is the most cost-effective way for many people to get lots of protein into their daily diets. These days, quality vegetables, such as beans and avocado, which are high in protein, cost relatively much more than meat. I pay 15 dollars for five pounds of avocado, while five pounds of pork only cost me around six dollars. Certainly, these factors lead to buying and eating too much meat. In order to significantly decrease the consumption of meat, governments must target and educate the public on the long-term health risks, such as cardiovascular disease and obesity, which are associated with eating too much animal produce. One-minute videos that show the cholesterol build up in arteries of people who eat meat regularly, in film and social media advertisements, can help people better understand their diet patterns and encourage them to change. I saw a video on Facebook a few months ago which showed the damage of daily meat consumption to the digestive system, and since then, I have reduced meat in my diet. In addition, authorities, by law, can force the decreased availability of meat for citizens. Regulations can be implemented that limit meat consumption to no more than three pounds per person, per month. In conclusion, meat is eaten too often because of the social norms that have evolved over centuries, and people ’s budgets to pack a full meal. However, governments can dissuade people from this negative diet through public relations and regulation. I definitely think that both individuals and future society are better off with lower portions of meat as part of daily nutrition.