In many countries today, there are concerns about the unhealthy lifestyles that people lead. What health issues are linked to modern lifestyles? What answers to these problems can you suggest?

That most people follow unhealthy ways of living is alarming. However, while I concede this new way of life might place an individual’s physical and mental health in jeopardy, I believe some practical measures could be taken to alleviate this trend. To commence, Modern lifestyles are to blame for some health threats. One of them is a rise in obesity levels. Eating at fast-food outlets is becoming trendy because many individuals often have an overload of urgent daily business, thus making them unable to cook and enjoy their food which is rich in nutrients and vitamins. Since junk food is high in sugar, salt and oil, consumers may gain extra weight, leading to other strength hazards such as stroke and under the worst-case scenario, heart attack. Another risk might be mental illness. Since people are living in the pressurized world where there is fierce competition in practically every sphere of life, many are ready to work at a faster pace and for longer hours. This leaves them with a little time for family life and does entertaining activities, all of which sometimes bring about stress and anxiety. However troublesome this case might seem, there are a number of simple steps that could easily be implemented to mitigate the issue. To remedy the problem of obesity, one workable solution is to offer some rewards. Take Uzbekistan for example. Citizens are rewarded with some sort of incentives like money and free mobile data for covering ten miles on foot every day. It may seem strange but this policy will definitely bring a drop in obesity levels in the long term. To address the risk of mental disorder, employers should be urged to adopt more flexible working practices that can increase worker control and choice such as self‐scheduling. This is highly likely to have a positive effect on health outcomes because this intervention often enables employees to lead a fuller private life with less stress. In conclusion, although the way people live may pose some health threats, a combination of rewards and better employment practices can be taken to mitigate this new trend.