Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a third world problem. However, it is becoming apparent that in countries such as the USA and Australia, illiteracy rate is on the increase. Discuss possible causes for this and its effect on society. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, illiteracy is increasing steadily and has been a prevailing concern in significant part of the world. A sea change has been witnessed because of financial constraints and lack of employment. The purpose of this essay is not only to highlight the problems associated with this phenomenon but it will also shed light on some related measures. There are myriad of reasons which will further explain this argument but the most preponderant one stems from the fact that the global financial crisis is the apparent reason to cite for discontinuation of studies among many children. The unprecedented hikes in Tution fees further exert financial pressures on these persons.Along with the increasing cost of living, it is likely that these people quit their studies to enter the workforce.They remain poorly educated. For example, the survey was conducted by the "Times of India" and it revealed that around 45%of students discontinue their studies due to financial problems. Hence, it is apparent why many are against this trend. On the paradoxical side, there are many drawbacks as well, one of the most alarming ones is that without adequate literacy, these students will be unemployed. For this reasons, it can be detrimental to the society in several ways. From a social viewpoint, the unemployed population is more prone to engage in criminal act such as robbery, in order to ease their financial problems. In addition, unemployed people are often low in morale and are more suspectible to depression. Thus from a financial perspective, the government is losing potential tax revenue that could have been used to improve public infrastructure for the society. To recapitulate, although, this problem has become the burning issue of the day.Government should come forward to mitigate this complex issue.