In order to solve traffic problem, government should tax private car owners heavily and use that money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

To improve public transportation and solve the car congestion issue, the government should charge automobile owners with high taxation. Therefore, this material will be discussed what are the advantages and disadvantages of charging car owners and using this money to improve public transportation. On the one hand, the disadvantages of heavily taxing car holders to improve public transportation are many. To illustrate, with this high level of taxation there will be a decreasing number of autos that will drastically shock the sales of automobile manufacturers. Nevertheless, if the number of sales of automobiles falls, there will be a negative impact on jobs as a result. Therefore, with this impact, the local authorities need to understand and balance the negative effects towards not only motor proprietors but see how they will also deal with the decreasing number of jobs at the end of the line. By contrast, the positive side of charging private autos, on the other hand, has many benefits. For example, the usage of public transport will increase drastically wherein in many situations automobile users will decrease its usage. Furthermore, there will also have a positive impact on air quality, where the government will meet environmental metrics as well as lower car congestion. However, if these charges are indeed applied, they will bring better effects to the public overall as well as the government. In conclusion, although there are many disadvantages of authorities applying heavy charges towards car owners and using this money to improve public transport, there are more advantages that outweigh these disadvantages than reversely, such as the quality of the air and better auto traffic on the road.