In the past, most people lived in small villages where most people knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community?

Nowadays, people live in big and busy cities, where everyone just knows a few neighbors or colleagues, that is opposite to the past, they lived in small villages, so they knew each other clearly. In my opinion, living small community as we did in the past had advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, living in a small community has 3 main benefits. First and foremost, everyone knew and lived near each other, they could easily get help from neighbors when needed. Secondly, there was a strong relationship among residents, that made them unite to protect themselves from nature’s strength and people outside. Besides, on some occasions, people often gathered to organize festivals, that would make a unique culture of their own. On the other hand, some drawbacks could not be denied when living in a small village. People usually knew their neighbors, and their own culture, so there would be a limit in their knowledge about the world outside. They did not know about the development of another community, so if they were backward, they kept that level forever. In addition, if someone had bad things, everyone would know, and they would be hard to continue living there, maybe they had to leave their community to find another place to live. In conclusion, I still believe that there were more advantages when living in a small community. People bonded a strong relationship and helped together to make better lives.