Children spend a lot of time watching TV and playing computer game, however it does not help in improving their mental abilities. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying the fact that staying on the phone or watching TV is enjoyable, but it has its disadvantages. While some believe there is no harm in letting their children spend most of their time in front of a screen, others strongly oppose it. In my opinion, excessive screen time can diminish children ’s mental abilities. This essay will discuss how this can cause children to lose focus in school and weaken their social skills. To begin with, children may lack social skills due to excessive use of the internet, whether it involves watching videos or playing games. Children who spend most of their time engaged in online activities or watching TV often have their lives centered around social media. Thus, they lose the ability to socialize with other kids, which can negatively impact them in the future. For instance, my brother spends so much time playing online games that he struggles to communicate with the neighbor’s kids, who are his age. Therefore, each household should set screen time limits for their children to help improve their mental and social development. Secondly, children may lose focus in school and eventually become careless, which can affect their academic performance. When children spend excessive time watching TV and playing computer games, they often become addicted, prioritizing these activities over schoolwork, studying, or even sleeping. Consequently, they tend to lose focus in class due to a lack of sleep. For example, studies show that children who spend most of their time online are generally less academically successful than those with limited screen time. In conclusion, despite differing opinions, I argue that excessive TV watching and computer game playing do not benefit children ’s mental abilities in any way. In fact, their abilities are likely to deteriorate without improvement, which is why setting screen time limits is crucial for both children and adults.