Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand, and what measures could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Water scarcity is an international problem that needs immediate attention. Pure water resources are limited and conservation is the immediate step towards preserving them. Due to population explosion and industrialization, scarcity of this valuable resource has become a universal problem. I will detail some of the causes and measures that are required to protect it. There are many reasons for its shortage. Firstly, rapid growth in population around the world is contributing towards its deficiency. The rapid increase in the number of people requires a lot of water consumption and which creates a demand for freshwater. Secondly, rapid industrialization has increased the demand for it and is posing a threat to its shortage. For instance every year, millions of cars are produced and a startling amount of water is required in this process. Finally, lack of responsibility in its preservation and wastage on the other hand are the main causes for its limitation. As for the solutions, strict legislation for freshwater is required. No factories or industries should be allowed to release wastes into these sources and pollute them. Moreover, to reverse the already polluted water bodies, the governments should create infrastructures for their purification and make the water reusable. More experiments and research should be carried out to convert the seawater into saline-free water which can to some extent help in catering to the needs of a vast population. Similarly, everyone irrespective of governments and common people are required to contribute towards its conversation. Many households can limit their usage and also rainwater storing can also be helpful in meeting their daily needs of them. In conclusion, pure water is a limited resource and we cannot survive without it. So, it should be the responsibility of the individuals as well as the authorities to take measures to save it before it extinct.