Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is undeniable that the education system helps to cultivate individuals of high calibre. While some people argue that the role of education is to raise adults who are redounded to society, others believe that the primary aim of education is to facilitate learners in realising their dreams. I concur that education should make it easier for individuals to achieve their goals, but the main purpose of education should remain as serving society. Some people believe that education should be geared towards helping individuals accomplish their goals as it is the only few avenues for them to find out their strengths. When they joined the workforce, their livelihood may be dependent on their job and it would too costly to make mistakes. However, when they are in school, they could trial and error to find out their niche area at a very low cost. While it is critical for schools to assist students in achieving their goals, I hold the view that cultivating capable workers, who are beneficial for society, is the top priority. Considering that society needs talents to fulfil the different needs of the public. For example, trained doctors who can carry out surgery skillfully and lawyers who know the law inside out. These practitioners have to undergo training in schools to qualify for their job. If no one chooses to be a doctor, the medical field will be short of manpower and it will be difficult for people to seek medical attention when needed. In conclusion, although education could allow individuals to explore different courses freely and find out their niche, I believe that fulfilling the needs of the vast majority should be the top priority.