Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these view and give your own opinion

It is argued by certain people that the biggest environmental challenge we currently face is the extinction of particular animals and plants while others believe we have more pressing issues than these. Personally, I believe that the latter is true since it presents with more grave effects. Therefore in this essay, I will tackle both these views and give a conclusion. To begin with, some people believe that the extinction of certain plants and animals is a major environmental problem because,without these, there would be less oxygen production in the environment. Take, for example, some plants are known to contribute to the earth's atmosphere more than 60 per cent of oxygen gas than any other, thus if they vanished from the environment, then the earth would be deprived of its main source of oxygen. This in itself emphasises the magnitude of the problem that extinction comes with and why such a matter can not be trivialised. Despite this being the case, I still hold out that this is not the main matter of concern among the present environmental problems. On the other hand, certain people feel that the major environmental problem is not the loss of certain animals and plants species because even with these species present, air pollution from many industries has led to heavy rainfalls or droughts that have impacted more lives than can plants and animals. To put this in perspective, unlike the minute impact from the loss of certain plants and animals, air pollution resulting from heavy industries has led to an increase in the frequency and magnitude of hurricanes around the globe with huge loss of lives and property. For instance, many countries in Europe today are faced with heavy downpours and the resulting hurricane Ana that all stems from environmental air pollution and greenhouse gases emissions. In conclusion, it is true that even though certain animals and plants play a vital role in the ecosystem balance and that the loss of certain species can result in reduced oxygen gas production, this can not compare with the impact that hurricanes have on people in general. I therefore still believe that air pollution is the biggest environmental challenge at the moment.