In recent times, economic growth has helped many become richer, both in developed and developing countries. However, those in developed countries are not as happy as they were in the past. Why is this? What can be learned from this?

For years, the economy of both developed and developing countries has grown rapidly, contributing to the wealth of each nation. Yet the welfare of industrialised nations is much lower than it was several years ago. From my perspective, I believe that there are many causes to this issue as well as lessons being drawn from this. First of all, it is not uncommon that people face trade-offs; that is, to be richer and wealthier, developed-country citizens must exchange their personal spare time to work more. Thus, they could earn a higher wage rate, which makes them happier in the short term but paradoxically sadder in the long term because they cannot sustain the balance between work and life. Secondly, people in these countries tend to suffer from fast-paced lives. These days, urbanisation is extremely harmful to those who demand a peace of mind, which is a key to a fulfilled and happy life. Although there is a number of plausible explanation mentioned above, governments in such countries could cope with this dilemma by getting to the root of it. First, they should invest more in welfare projects to forge the connection amongst citizens. Given this, fewer and fewer people will feel lonesome, thereby increasing their happiness over time. Secondly, the authority should allow employees to take more paid holidays. Thus, they could relieve stress at the workplace and reach the balance between work and life. In other words, the less stressful a job is, the happier a person will be. By and large, public welfare is vital to the overall development of a society. It is governments that could make a difference under such circumstances by stressing more on the overall well-being of society.